Daniel and his friends face the furnace of fire.

This Sunday I had the story of Daniel and his friends going into fiery furnace. A very good story with a life lesson. Daniel is another man of God that teaches us about faith. Perfect example of a real Christian. Actions do speak louder than words because although he was a very wise man, he stood up for his believes and faith no matter who, what, when, where, why, and how it was. His friends were right behind him. His problems could have been saved if he just did what he was told. If he had eaten like the King ordered when he was young, he wouldn’t be put to the test to see if his diet would work or not. If he had he would bend those knees in front of the statue one time, he wouldn’t have been thrown into the furnace. If he had prayed silently and privately when the king signed the order to not pray to any other God, he wouldn’t have been tossed into the lions. But if he hadn’t stood up, if he had stayed quiet, he would’ve been another human being on earth. There would be no Daniel in the Bible. There would be no amazing incredible stories of the wonders God can do. Being normal is not the Christian standard. As Christians, we have to be bold and brave. With unvanishing faith, getting strength from the Lord’s word and building a strong relationship with prayer. That’s what I learned. And even if it’s hard, I must keep at it. I must train and feed my soul to become a soldier to fight the good battle. Also I learned that in matter to see wonders, we must be tossed into fire, thrown in between lions. Is it scary? Yes. Will we die? No. God will always stand behind us, besides us, and in front of us. We just have to trust him, have faith in him, believe in him. Not an easy thing to do but it’s something we must pass. He will never kill us, do something bad against us, even if it’s a consequence. Everything he does, is perfect in his plan. Something I’m still learning, free my hands from meddleling where they shouldn’t, let go, and let him take the wheel. It might feel like I’m falling, and I might be, but I shall fall into his hands, for they shall catch me.

“If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.” – Daniel 3:17-18

This time I did show them the movie of the story of Daniel. It’s his whole life, from when he was captured by the king’s order to when he was saved from the lions. The lesson was only about his friends and he going through the oven of fire, but I let them watch from the begenning (since it was pretty acurate) to when they came out from the oven. Next week is Daniel and the Lions, so I’ll finish the rest of it then. I found the movie in spanish on youtube and did a quick download. (I saw the english version but it got taken down..) Here’s the link, La History De Daniel. Also, I gave them a paper with 13 questions from the movie to answer while they watch (trying to make them pay attention!). It worked pretty well.

Afterwards I did the craft/activity. Since the movie was more than 15 minutes, I decided to do something quick and simple. So I decided on “courage bracelets” will do. Pretty much, strands of yarn braided to make a bracelet. Quick and simple.

Memory Verse: “When I am afriad, I will trust in You.” Psalm 56:3

I used the left over yarn from last week’s  pom poms we did (about a foot long). The pink yarn went pretty quick! Boys do like pink LOL. I used 6 strands of (almost) the same size (I eyeball them) and tied a knot at one end. Then braided in sections of 3 using 2 strands. Then tied the braid with another knot. Boys had trouble braiding, so I ended up braiding 5.

Simple and fun!

Courage Bracelet

Leave a Reply

